Palanca Awards Honors 2011 Literary Gems

The Carlos Palanca Foundation honored the winners of the 61st Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature (Palanca Awards), the country’s most prestigious and most enduring literary awards, in its annual awarding rites held at The Peninsula Manila in Makati.

Of the 1,160 entries for this year, 58 winning works were selected, submitted by 55 writers – with close to half (44 percent) are first-time winners.

Noteworthy is the significant boost in the participation of young writers ages 18 years old and below, particularly in the Kabataan Essay division. Palanca Awards received 65 submissions under the division, a 109 percent increase from last year.

Palanca Awards also opened the Novel category this year, gathering a record-breaking submission of 57 entries for both English and Filipino, an increase of 84 percent from 2008. The Novel category is open every three years.

The “Old Man of Philippine Letters” himself, Francisco Sionil José, was the guest of honor and Dangal ng Lahi honoree in this year’s Awards night. A national treasure, Mr. José has continuously regaled us with some of the finest prose ever to see print; including twelve novels, seven books of short stories, a book of verse, and five important books of essays, all in English but many of which are now available in 28 languages. He is also a five-time Palanca awardee for his short stories “The God Stealer” in 1959, “Waywaya” in 1979, “Arbol de Fuego” (Firetree) in 1980, his novel Mass in 1981, and his essay “A Scenario for Philippine Resistance” in 1979.

In honor of Don Carlos Palanca, Sr., the Awards aims to help develop Philippine literature for writers to craft their most outstanding literary work; to be a treasury of the Philippines’ literary gems from our gifted writers; and to assist in its dissemination to the public, especially the students.

Now hosting a total of 2,052 winning works, the Palanca Awards, for over six decades, has been enriching the country’s cultural heritage by recognizing the best works all over the country. What started as a small yet potent collection of six stories in 1951 has now grown into a wide and deep treasury of the best of Philippine literature in 22 categories.

At present, the Carlos Palanca Foundation already has, in its collection, 527 short stories, 366 collections of poetry, 208 essays, 344 one-act plays, 182 full-length plays, 60 teleplays, 54 screenplays, 148 stories for children, 34 futuristic fiction stories, 77 student essays, 36 novels, and 16 collections of poetry for children. These works are compiled and made available to all researchers and lovers of literature at the Foundation library and its official website,

This year’s winners include:


Dulang Pampelikula
1st – Lemuel E. Garcellano (Tru Lab)
2nd – T-Jay K. Medina (Huling Isang Taon)
3rd – Helen V. Lasquite (Emmanuel)

Dulang Ganap ang Haba
1st – Rodolfo Vera (Paalam Señor Soledad)
2nd – Liza Magtoto (Tamala)
3rd – Joshua L. Lim So (Panahon ng Sampung Libong Ilong)

Dulang May Isang Yugto
1st – Remi Karen M. Velasco (Ondoy: Ang Buhay sa Bubong)
2nd – Layeta P. Bucoy (El Galeon De Simeon)
3rd – Bernardo O. Aguay, Jr. (Posporo)

Kabataan Sanaysay
1st – Mary Amie Gelina E. Dumatol (Ang Makulit, ang Mapagtanong, at ang Mundo ng Kasagutan)
2nd – Abegail Joy Y. Lee (Nang Maging Mendiola ko ang Internet Dahil kay Mama)
3rd – Ma. Bettina Clare N. Camacho (Isang Pindot Sa Kamalayan)

1st – Enrique S. Villasis (Agua)
2nd – Rosmon M. Tuazon (Mga Nakaw na Linya)
3rd – Christopher B. Nuyles (Ilang Tala Hinggil sa Daangbakal at iba pang tula)

Tulang Pambata
1st – Marcel L. Milliam (Ako Ang Bida)
2nd – Eugene Y. Evasco (Isang Mabalahibong Bugtong)
3rd – John Enrico C. Torralba (Manghuhuli Ako ng Sinag ng Araw)

Maikling Kwento
1st – No Winner
2nd – No Winner
3rd – Michael S. Bernaldez (Metro Gwapo)

Maikling Kwentong Pambata
1st – Segundo Matias (Alamat ng Duhat)
2nd – Joachim Emilio B. Antonio (Sa Tapat ng Tindahan ni Mang Teban)
3rd – Christian Tordecillas (Si Inda, Ang Manok at ang mga Lamang-Lupa)

1st – Bernadette V. Neri (Ang Pag-uwi ng Alibughang Anak ng Lupa)
2nd – Rosario Torres-Yu (Nagbibihis na ang Nanay)
3rd – Nancy Kimuell-Gabriel (Kubeta)


Full-length Play
1st – Joshua L. Lim So (A Return Home)
2nd – Peter Solis Nery (If The Shoe Fits)
3rd – Jonathan R. Guillermo (Freshmen)

One-act Play
1st – Floy C. Quintos (Evening at the Opera)
2nd – No Winner
3rd – No Winner

Short Story
1st – Asterio Enrico N. Gutierrez (The Big Man)
2nd – Alexis A.L. Abola (Disappearance)
3rd – Johannes L. Chua (Prodigal)

Short Story for Children
1st – Georgina Veronica (Nikki) Alfar (Tom Yum)
2nd – Georgianna R. de Vera (Tatay, Through Wind and Waves)
3rd – Benjamin Pimentel (Gagamba, the Spider from the Islands)

1st – Eliza A. Victoria (Maps)
2nd – Lourdes Marie S. La Viña (Stones and Other Poems)
3rd – Simeon P. Dumdum, Jr. (Maguindanao)

Poetry for Children
1st – Cynthia Baculi-Condez (The Universe and Other Poems)
2nd – Peter Solis Nery (The Shape of Happiness)
3rd – Kris Lanot Lacaba (The Shaggy Brown Chicken and Other Poems for Children (and for chickens of all ages)

1st – Jennifer Rebecca L. Ortuoste (The Turn for Home: Memories of Santa Ana Park)
2nd – Jeena Rani Marquez-Manaois (The River of Gold)
3rd – Rosario Cruz-Lucero (The Stain of Blackberries)

Kabataan Essay
1st – Mariah Cristelle F. Reodica (The Golden Mean)
2nd – Scott Lee Chua (Of Pixels and Power)
3rd – Leo Francis F. Abot (Gods of the Internet)


Short Story – Cebuano
1st – Richel G. Dorotan (Ang Tawo sa Punoan ng Nangka sa Hinablayan)
2nd – Errol A. Merquita (Isla Verde)
3rd – Macario D. Tiu (Black Pearl)

Short Story – Iluko
1st – Ariel S. Tabag (Saddam)
2nd – Juan A. Asuncion (Ayuno)
3rd – Norberto D. Bumanglag, Jr. (Ti Agdamdamili)

Short Story – Hiligaynon
1st – Peter Solis Nery (Donato Bugtot)
2nd – Alice Tan Gonzales (Kahapunanon sa Laguerta ni Alberto)
3rd – Kizza Grace F. Gardoce (Pabalon)


Allan Alberto N. Derain (Ang Banal na Aklat ng mga Kumag)

Maria Victoria Soliven Blanco (In the Service of Secrets)

# # #