City of San Fernando wins Gawad Kalasag award in Central Luzon

CITY of SAN FERNANDO, Pampanga, Oct. 13 (PNA)– This city bagged this year’s Gawad Kalasag Award for having the best disaster risk reduction and management council in Central Luzon.

The award was conferred Monday by the Regional Risk Reduction and Management Council (RDRRMC), Office of the Civil Defense (OCD) and the Department of the Interior and Local Government(DILG).

The award was in recognition of individuals, groups, or institution that have shown extraordinary courage, heroism, self sacrifice and bravery against all odds in times of emergencies and disasters.

Gawad Kalasag is an acronym for “KAlamidad at SAkuna LAbanan; SAriling Galing ang Kaligtasan.”

OCD Regional Director Josefina Timoteo said during the awarding ceremony Monday at the Holiday Inn Resort in Clarkfield, that the city was awarded for its excellence in disaster risk reduction and management particularly in its “effective steering and commendable leadership of both local and national disaster management-related offices and collaborative efforts and consistent documentation of activities on disaster preparedness and mitigation.”

The San Fernando Rescue Unit (SAFRU) bagged the second place for Best Government Emergency Response Management, a category that has always been dominated by provincial level local government units.

In his message, Mayor Edwin D. Santiago expressed his gratitude to the OCD officials for acknowledging the city’s efforts to develop a disaster-resilient culture.

“Rest assured that we are one with the national government and the rest of the world in the efforts towards effective disaster risk reduction and climate change adaptation,” he said.

Santiago added that under his administration there will be a continuity of programs that ensure the readiness and welfare of the local community in the event of a disaster.

“We pledge to our people unwavering commitment towards becoming a disaster-resilient region and nation.”

Other winners in the component city category are Cabanatuan City, Nurva Ecija, 2nd placer and Malolos City, Bulacan, 3rd placer.

The winners received a plaque of appreciation and cash prizes.

The city will be vying for National Gawad Kalasag Award this year. (PNA)