New Comelec commissioner named

PHILIPPINE NEWS SERVICE — President Macapagal-Arroyo has named Gregorio Larrazabal as commissioner of the Commission on Elections.

Executive Secretary Eduardo Ermita yesterday announced the appointment of Larrazabal, who at 37 is the youngest elections commissioner. He will turn 38 this month.

Larrazabal will fill in the seventh slot left vacant when Leonardo Leonida was twice bypassed by the Commission on Appointments. He is the former Comelec regional director of Region 8 and president of the Regional Directors’ League of the Comelec.

Surprised by the appointment, Larrazabal said he will do his best to ensure clean automated elections next year. He said he will await his confirmation before taking his new post.

Ermita also announced the President’s other appointees including Francisco Perez as assistant secretary of the Telecommunications Office, Ronadale Zapata, assistant chief of staff at the Office of Vice President, and Marissa Macaraig-Guillen as Assistant Solicitor General.

The President also appointed Arthur Aguilar as chairman of the National Renewable Energy Board, Apollo Enriquez, chairman of the board of civil engineering at the Professional Regulations Commission, and James Dy, Special Envoy of the President for Medical Tourism.