ASEAN members propose setting up of mineral database system

NUSA DUA, Bali, Nov. 26 (PNA/ANTARA) — The 13th Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Senior Officials Meeting on Minerals (ASOMM) will be held in Bali from November 26 to 27, which will focus on discussing the development of the mineral database system in Southeast Asian countries, an official said.

“The development of a mineral database is one of the topics that will be discussed at the ASOMM, besides an improvement in human resources and the use of minerals for sustainable development in ASEAN,” the Head of the Geological Board at the Energy and Mineral Resources Ministry Sukyar, stated on Tuesday.

Sukyar, who is also Chairman of the 13th ASOMM, expressed hope that the mineral database could be launched during the fourth ASEAN Ministerial Meeting on Minerals (AMMIN), which is also being held in Bali from November 28 to 29.

“The mineral database is needed to see the mineral power of each ASEAN member state. Based on the database, we will be able to better understand the mineral supply and demand from all ASEAN member countries,” he pointed out.

The mineral database would hopefully receive wide support from the private sector, Sukyar stated, adding that the development of the mineral database could also serve as a blueprint for the creation of the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) in 2015.

Sukyar invited representatives from ASEAN member states at the meeting to come up with their respective proposals to develop an ASEAN database and information system.

The 13th ASOMM is part of the fourth AMMIN.

The meeting serves as a venue to discuss mineral issues facing ASEAN member states, covering all the technical aspects and policies on the development of mineral resources, he noted.

According to the AEC blueprint, cooperation among ASEAN member states in the mineral sector will help boost trade and investment, as well as the capacity of the geological and mineral sector to support sustainable development in ASEAN.

The ASEAN member states are namely, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. (PNA/ANTARA)