Ampatuan wins in ARMM election

PHILIPPINE NEWS SERVICE — THE Commission on Elections yesterday proclaimed Gov. Zaldy Ampatuan as the winning governor of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao. The Comelec said Ansaruddin-Abdul Malik Alonto Adiong won as vice governor.

Comelec Chairman Jose Melo said Ampatuan was proclaimed after certificates of canvass electronically sent to them showed that he garnered 693,000 votes or 91.97 percent of the votes.

Ampatuan’s closest pursuer, Alvarez Silal Isnaji, only got 17,973 votes.

The other gubernatorial candidates were Ali Jumadil Omar (15,433 votes), Guimid Panalangin Matalam (10,019 votes), Jupakar Pindah-Asia Arabani (9,950 votes) Ismail Berto Ibrahim (5,505 votes) and Ahmad Darping Nooh (1,625 votes).

In the race for vice governor, Adiong got 668,175 votes or 91.80 percent of the total number of votes.

His rivals included Kadra Asani Masihul (23,688); Kursid Hajirie Sampang (19,068); and Ailani Jr. Tan Susulan (16,923).

Adiong will be proclaimed this morning since his lawyer submitted a manifestation seeking to postpone Adiong’s proclamation yesterday.

Meanwhile, Comelec also announced the winning assemblymen in Shariff Kabunsuan and Tawi-Tawi.

Leading in Shariff Kabunsuan were Ronnie Quesada Sinsuat (Lakas-CMD), Cahar Pendat Ibay (Kampi), and Abdulradzak Dagalangit Tomawis (Kampi).

In Tawi-Tawi, the winning assemblymen were identified as Rejie Maquiso Sahali, (Lakas-CMD), Mustapha Joe Omas (Independent) , and Nur Mahadil Kingking Ahaja (Independent) .

Melo said Monday’s electoral exercise was the first fraud-free election in more than half a century. It was also the first time that the winning candidates were proclaimed in less than two days since it was the first time for the poll body to use electronic voting and transmission machines.

For the first time, election results were also uncontested. There were also no reports of voter disenfranchisement.

“I congratulate my colleagues in the Comelec ?” Commissioners Rene Sarmiento, Domenico Ferrer, Moslemen Macarambon, Lucenito Tagle and Leonardo Leonida, the entire Comelec directorate, provincial elections supervisors, election officers, election assistants and everyone involved for pulling together during this crucial junction in our electoral history and ensuring the success of this landmark endeavor. The Comelec is slowly but surely shedding its old image,” the Comelec chairman said.